Tuesday, June 24, 2008
House hunting
Ben and I might be buying a house soon. Scary, but exciting. That feels like such a "grown-up" thing to do. :-D
Sunday, April 27, 2008
And one more thing...
It's hard to be focused on school when I'm getting married exactly 5 months from today :) Ben and I have now been together exactly 21 months and he'll be my husband on September 27.
I would really rather spend the rest of my day researching florists or trying to pick out items for our gift registry than working on a case study about meat packers.
I would really rather spend the rest of my day researching florists or trying to pick out items for our gift registry than working on a case study about meat packers.
I said I wanted a challenge...
When I started working on my master's degree last year, I said I wanted a challenge. Well, the first two classes were not challenging enough, but this latest one has more than made up for it. I am trying to work on my final paper and I'm having the hardest time! For goodness sakes, I was a high school valedictorian and graduated Magna Cum Laude with my first degree and yet you'd think I was a total moron if you my attempt at a final paper, at least in its current state. Okay, I guess I should quit venting about it and get back to working on it. I have got to get more done before church tonight.
Monday, December 17, 2007
A "Chick Flick" for Couples...
Tonight Ben and I had the opportunity to catch a sneak preview of P.S. I Love You. What a great movie. It was funny and beautiful and moving...and it made me cry, which for most girls doesn't mean much but since I am often emotionally constipated and can't get tears out even when I feel like I want to, this was a big deal. To anyone who is unattached, by all means see the movie w/ your girlfriends, or guy friends, whatever. But, if you're fortunate enough to be in a relationship w/ someone who you're crazy about and who thinks the world of you too, then you should see it with him or her.
Had Ben been unavailable, I probably would have seen it w/ one of my girlfriends. I'm sure I would have still enjoyed it, but I have to say there is something so incredible about watching a movie about true love and having yours beside you, holding your hand. I never really understood that before I was in love. I couldn't get why one of my girlfriends would want to see a girly love story w/ her boyfriend/husband rather than w/ me, her eager chick-flick comrade....but now I do. When it comes to girly movies like Bring-it-On, I say go full-on estrogen style....but this movie was--for me anyway--on par w/ The Notebook and I'm so glad I got to see it with Ben.
I highly recommend the film though...to hooked up and unattached alike.
Had Ben been unavailable, I probably would have seen it w/ one of my girlfriends. I'm sure I would have still enjoyed it, but I have to say there is something so incredible about watching a movie about true love and having yours beside you, holding your hand. I never really understood that before I was in love. I couldn't get why one of my girlfriends would want to see a girly love story w/ her boyfriend/husband rather than w/ me, her eager chick-flick comrade....but now I do. When it comes to girly movies like Bring-it-On, I say go full-on estrogen style....but this movie was--for me anyway--on par w/ The Notebook and I'm so glad I got to see it with Ben.
I highly recommend the film though...to hooked up and unattached alike.
Monday, December 10, 2007
Stop saying it...
Okay, so this might be too whiny or pessimistic for a first blog.....BUT, I would like for people to stop telling me, "You're going to be next," with regard to getting engaged. I don't know if I'm going to be next; they don't know if I'm going to be next; and I don't want to be disappointed if I'm not next.
I'm super happy for all my friends who have gotten engaged/married of late. Clearly, it was the right time for them....and I know it will happen for me too when it's the right time...it just hasn't happened yet...and no one knows whether I'll be next, except maybe Ben.
Okay, that's all. I'm not upset. Just needed to get this off my chest. The people who've said "You're next" are well-meaning so I don't want this to seem like I'm grumpy with them. I just wish they'd stop making predictions because I'm trying to not get my hopes up too early.
I'm super happy for all my friends who have gotten engaged/married of late. Clearly, it was the right time for them....and I know it will happen for me too when it's the right time...it just hasn't happened yet...and no one knows whether I'll be next, except maybe Ben.
Okay, that's all. I'm not upset. Just needed to get this off my chest. The people who've said "You're next" are well-meaning so I don't want this to seem like I'm grumpy with them. I just wish they'd stop making predictions because I'm trying to not get my hopes up too early.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)